Repo & C64GamePack Installer are now LIVE!

The Repo is now LIVE!
Just add the source link after the break in Cydia as always.

There is currently only 1 Game available for download (Donkey Kong) but I will add more games soon.
A Patch is required to install the games, but is included with all games downloaded from my repo.

You can download the patch separately as well.

I have tested the patch and it works great so far, but I need all of you to report any issues you have if any.

I’m calling this a BETA release because I have something much better planed which I will implement later.

As some of you may already know my Mother passed away on Sunday, she was only 51 and it was very sudden and unexpected. Thankfully, she went peacefully in her sleep.

I’m of course having a really hard time wrapping my head around it all, and I guess every now and then I need to escape and work on projects like these, however in the coming days I can’t promise I’ll have time, but I will try.

This release is dedicated to my mother Denise who always taught me to finish what I start. ❤

Cydia Repo Source: http://dna.myhostclub.com/repo/

– DNA

39 thoughts on “Repo & C64GamePack Installer are now LIVE!

  1. DNA Post author

    If there’s a game you would like to see in the repo just request it!

    Sorry, no multi-disk games or games that require special save/character disks at this time.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  2. Daniel

    Very great work, especially regarding your private circumstances. I don’t know how say that in English, but I’d like to offer you my condolences.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Daniel

    Just saw something in your repo-text: it says, the patch is for the C64-app, version 1.1.3 and 1.1.4 – is that true? Or did you mean 1.3 and 1.4?

    Like

    Reply
  4. Daniel

    I have a problem installing the game. After adding the repo to the Cydia-packages, I installed Donkey Kong, which then again automatically installed the C64-Patch. After installing, the iPhone rebooted, but the game won’t appear in my C64-app’s game-list. The Cydia-package then shows two updates: the C64 patch and the Donkey-Kong-Game. After updating and rebooting the iPhone, the same situation: No game installed, and Cydia shows 2 updates.

    I have the C64-App v1.4.08

    Like

    Reply
  5. Stainy

    Bug? Maybe. I installed the patch and gamepack ( kong ) and cydia
    is saying I have two updates!! ( the patch and game ) I just installed
    something is not telling cydia I already have them installed.
    Plus I don’t see kong in C64 app. Will investigate

    Like

    Reply
  6. DNA Post author

    @Daniel

    Thank you, I appreciate that very much.

    Also thank you for pointing out the error in the repo-text.
    And you are correct, the version is for 1.3.xx and 1.4.xx

    Also regarding Donkey Kong, I will investigate the control issue.
    And I am aware of the packages showing up as Updates after installs,
    I can’t figure out why, because the usual issues that would cause such
    have been checked, and I’ve found nothing wrong.

    I’m actually having the same problems myself, although the game does install and show up for me, and I have the same version 1.4.08

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  7. DNA Post author

    @Stainy

    Yes it appears to be a bug at this time.

    Donkey Kong may appear further down the list and not in Alphabetical order.

    I will investigate further.
    Thank you.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  8. DNA Post author

    @jim
    Hi Jim,
    Please explain what you did to get the game to show up?

    I’m aware of the control issue and will do my best to fix it.
    Thanks for bringing these issues to my attention.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  9. Echo

    My condolences on the loss of your mother, a very tragic loss which I will unfortunately be sharing in the very near future. They really are our world, aren’t they?

    I believe this may help with troubleshooting the problem…

    1) Missing game, patch doesn’t work correctly on all devices – I’m not familiar with exactly how the patch works but on some devices it appears to “point” (alias? redirect?) to the wrong folder and installs there instead. I’ll pull some examples from my family’s devices for you.

    2) Regardless of a working install, Cydia always shows updates – Whatever method your patch uses to source the C64.app directory, Cydia cannot follow when it runs it’s version checks. The same happens if you remove a Cydia/Rock installed app via SSH (or file browser, etc). Cydia thinks the file is still installed but gets no version info and therefore assumes an update is needed.

    Hope this isn’t gibberish and helps out some. Thanks for all your work!!

    Like

    Reply
  10. BigHurt

    I am having the same issues. Installed it, nothing shows up in C64 app. I removed the DK package, removed C64 and reinstalled both. Still not showing up for me. Jim, I am interested to see how you got it to show up also

    Like

    Reply
  11. Daniel

    I ssh’ed into the C64-directory to see whether the game was installed or not – and I couldn’t find Donkey Kong in the Games-Folder of the C64-Application’s folder (where the other games are that I manually copied there). So, the problem seems to be that DK won’t install into the requested directory, if I see right…

    Like

    Reply
  12. DNA Post author

    @Echo
    Thank you for your kind words and yes, they really are our world.
    Treasure your time left with her. The same applies to all friends and family.

    1) They should all be the same, unless the documents folder isn’t created until you download a free game from within the app itself. Which sounds like it could very well be the issue.

    Just to be clear for everyone Games Downloaded via Cydia should be stored in “/private/var/mobile/Applications/*/Documents/Games/”

    2) If Cydia knows it’s installed and is offering updates for said packages, it would seem kind of odd if it wasn’t able to follow the dir to the app, though that may very well be the case, and I have an idea I will test for a possible fix.

    Thank for the comments!

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  13. DNA Post author

    @BigHurt

    Thanks for the comments,
    I’m removing DK due to control issues but will be adding several more games in its place.

    Odd that it worked for me, but thats why I asked everyone to report bugs, I kinda expected this which is why it’s a BETA release 😉

    Have you downloaded any Free in App Games for the C64?
    Please try to download one, and then after install the package again and let me know if it works for you.

    Cheers!

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  14. DNA Post author

    @Daniel
    As I mentioned above, the games should be stored in “/private/var/mobile/Applications/*/Documents/Games/” and not in with the stock games in “/private/var/mobile/Applications/*/C64.app/Games/”.

    (* is representing the Unique GUID)

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  15. DNA Post author

    I have just tested it out again after insuring everything was removed via Cydia and SSH and it works great, so I’m positive all of your issues are caused by a lack of the Documents folder.

    I will see if I can create a fix for this, but for now, just download 1 Free in App C64 Game and then run download from my repo.

    Let me know how it goes folks.

    Thanks!

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  16. Bighurt

    That is probably the issue, I don’t think I installed a free game before installing your package. I searched the phone and the Donkey Kong game was installed to:

    varmobilegamepacksgames

    That is why C64 didn’t see it.
    Once you throw another game up there I will test it again now that I have a free game installed and the documents folder exists.
    Thanks! Take Care

    Like

    Reply
  17. jim

    Thats what I had to do, was copy the donkey kong folder to the correct location. The controls still dont work but the games shows up and will play

    Like

    Reply
  18. Bighurt

    @Bighurt
    Ok, I just installed the Bruce Lee gamepack from the repo, same results, the game installed to varmobilegamepacksgames and not /Applications/*/Documents/Games/ , the /Applications/*/Documents/Games/ folder does exist because that is where free Laser Squad installed
    I will try some other things and see if I can figure out something

    Like

    Reply
  19. DNA Post author

    @Bighurt
    The files are installed to “/var/mobile/gamepacks/games”. However “games” is should not be a folder but a Symlink to “/Applications/*/Documents/Games/”.

    So the games should be installed to the proper directory.

    And while I have found that the Documents folder does exist, the games folder does not.

    I had another iPhone on hand that I wiped and setup as a test bench and found even after creating the games folder the game failed to appear in the list. I’m now certain the issue is that for some odd reason is within the scripts ability to create the symlink although I cannot explain why it works on my personal device of the same type.

    I will release a manual version of the script in the repo which will require the use of MobileTerminal. I’ll post a simple guide on how to use it shortly.

    This only needs to be done once, then all games in the repo will work.
    It’s a temporary solution for the moment while I try and figure out what is wrong with the script, which by the way should function perfectly via MobileTerminal.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  20. DNA Post author

    @jim
    Unfortunately I’m not sure what the issue with the controls is at this time, Joystick Swap failed to provide any positive results. I will look into it at a later date.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  21. kommodoro

    Will this emulator run GEOS, i wish it could be, but when i try to load it it closes with an error or just dont load, i had tried changing cycles, turning on ciairq hack, and still dont work, and when i try to turn on single cycle emulation it closes the app. I have an ipod touch 3g 8gb it could be some problem of memory, Please help. Thank you.

    My condolences friend.

    (sorry for my english)

    Like

    Reply
  22. skywalka

    Sorry 2 hear about your Mum.

    I’ve always got stuck into projects when I’m feeling down but just recently was told I do that because I have Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. I hope all is OK with U though.

    Thanx 4 helping the community.

    Like

    Reply
  23. JFur

    Version 1.5 of the emulator is now out.

    I’m still only seeing two patches and one game on the repo — Bruce Lee. Is this correct, or is my Cydia failing to update correctly?

    -Jef.

    Like

    Reply
    1. DNA Post author

      Due to a bug I have been unable to fix, I haven’t made the new repo public.

      I could proceed in a full release that included the bug, however it would mean rebuilding the entire repo when the bug is fixed. That’s allot of work.

      The “bug” is Cydia always shows updates for installed files.
      So
      If you were to apply the patch and install 200+ Games, Cydia would show you had 200+ Pending updates.

      I haven’t given up, I have just been focused on Family lately.

      Make sure to follow me on Twitter for more frequent updates.

      Cheers!
      DNA

      Like

      Reply
    1. DNA Post author

      Things are rather hectic right now,
      I haven’t had anytime for projects or games for sometime now.

      I’m going to tackle this project over the next few days, I hate seeing it sit here un-finished.

      I appretiate everyones paitence.

      Like

      Reply
  24. Echo Bravo

    We’re a mere 20hrs away from the most recent post being a month old, is this project dead? I’m an old C64 hack but I wish I knew more about the iPhoneOS, I’d love to help out with this. Are there any other forums available covering the customization of the C64.app and/or adding more C64 titles? Links please (and thanks)!

    Like

    Reply
  25. DNA Post author

    @Daniel
    Thanks for that tip Daniel.

    @Echo Bravo
    Hi Echo Bravo,
    The project isn’t dead, just had to sit on the back burner for a while.

    As far as I know I’m the only one covering the customization of the C64.app.

    Glad to have you with us, and your welcome to contribute if you like.

    @dnp
    I’m not sure if that was a question as to if there was a simple way to purchase to all the in app stuff or if you were suggesting that purchasing all of the in app stuff was simple… :S

    Either way I’m still here, and I’ll be updating the site as much as possible.

    Cheers!
    DNA

    Like

    Reply
  26. Slycarter

    Hallo, where can I get Commodore 64 emulator for iPhone? I
    can’t find it on your repos. Then, I wish I had Platoon
    ported!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. DNA Post author

      Hi,

      You can purchase it from the Apple App Store. The source code is also available and should be linked in my blog someplace. I need to update the repo, so appologies if things aren’t working or if the selection is poor.

      Cheers
      -DNA

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

