Update on Important notes for Custom GamePacks in Cydia.

Earlier I had wrote about some “Important notes on Custom GamePacks for C64.app”.

Forget everything I said πŸ˜›

I’ve realized while building the games packages for release via Cydia that using the gameid simply won’t work 100% of the time.

The problem is some gameid’s contain spaces, hyphens, underscores, and a mix of lower and uppercase characters. And even Manomio doesn’t use the actual gameid in all of their releases.

Rather then use something like “com.manomio.C64.gameid” we could use com.cydia.C64.id, now I say “.id” vs “.gameid” to avoid confusion, because again we should NOT be using the gameid.

Instead we should only use lowercase characters with no spaces, hyphens or underscores in the name,
(Example: com.cydia.C64.batmanthecapedcrusader).

The reason why I chose to replace “manomio” with “cydia” is because not only is it not a manomio release, but I wouldn’t want to see your paid/official downloads and game-saves overwritten.

All of the game releases I will be posting in Cydia will be set to conflict with any game of the same name.
Example:

Package: com.cydia.C64.paperboy
Conflicts: com.cydia.C64.paperboy

This means that if you already have installed paperboy, Cydia will not allow you to overwrite paperboy until you have uninstalled it.

I think that by following this standard it will make things simpler and help avoid countless duplicates when downloading any multi-game-packs.

I will have the Cydia Repo up soon so. It will be host to individual games as well as larger game-packs.
Submissions are welcome. If you would like to make a submission please compress the files and upload them to sendspace and then message me the link. I will have a submission form posted up on the site soon.

– DNA

13 thoughts on “Update on Important notes for Custom GamePacks in Cydia.

  1. Pingback: dna.myhostclub.com » Important notes on Custom GamePacks for C64.app

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention dna.myhostclub.com Β» Update on Important notes for Custom GamePacks in Cydia. -- Topsy.com

  3. Sgt. Brittney Morris

    Could I please do a request instead of submission?lol πŸ˜‰ Jus teasin’.

    If requests are possible then I’d love to see if a working version of “Pool of Radiance” could make the cut! Anyhow, jus wonderin if you found a way to make this work.

    I know you are busy and all of us here are thankful. I will look for a way to throw a donation your way! Thx again.

    Like

    Reply
  4. DNA Post author

    I tried to get it up this morning, but I ran out of time and had to head off to work.
    I’m to tired to do anything now, so I’ll work on it again before work tomorrow.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  5. DNA Post author

    @JFur
    Thanks for the kind words πŸ™‚

    @Sgt. Brittney Morris
    Requests are welcomed!
    I will add it to the test repo and see what I can do.

    A few people have asked me about donating or brought it up so I’ll post a link tomorrow for those that would like to make a donation.
    Donations will go to the charities listed on the Donation Page.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  6. DNA Post author

    @Sgt. Brittney Morris

    I just took a quick peak, and it looks like should have some .zip support for some games to work, or support for multiple images in the gameInfo.plist configuration file.

    Example:

    game-images
    Item 1 POOLR1.D64
    Item 2 POOLR2.D64
    Item 3 POOLR3.D64
    Item 4 POOLR4.D64
    ...etc

    I’m not saying these games won’t work with out these features, I’m just saying it would make life allot easier πŸ˜›

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  7. Sgt. Brittney Morris

    @DNA

    Thx you so much for getting started on this sweetie! πŸ™‚ I’m so grateful.

    Yeah, I too named them in an easy way. Pool1, Pool2, Pool3, etc. The problem I am having is IN the game itself. For instance, try to make a character. At some point it wants you to save to a character disk. I used the character disk that came with the rom and then i also tried to use a blank D.64 file. *sigh* It always comes up as save failed. I even tried the option that says to format the disk. To do this I had to change the proc string code to true. Alas, that didn’t work either. Anyhow, I hope this isn’t a lost cause. 😦

    Thx for your fine work! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
  8. DNA Post author

    @Sgt. Brittney Morris

    Well all night and no luck, I’m not ready to give up yet as I have lots of ideas left.
    I spent most of the night testing, looking for a save state file and researching Frodo and Pool of Radiance itself.

    But I really have to work on the repo now πŸ˜›

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  9. Sgt.Brittney Morris

    Np sweetie. πŸ™‚ Thx so much for your hardwork. I wonder how hard it would be to patch the original disks so it doesn’t need to save to one of them? This is the old 64 after all so maybe it can be reprogrammed in some way? Sheeshe, makes me wish I knew basic! lol

    Like

    Reply
  10. Darren

    Whats the deal with the scrolling in Commando? I seem to remember someone here mentioned that it`s not a problem with them ?? as soon as the screen starts scrolling, it gets all jittery..

    Also… how am I to throw grenades with the spacebar? ? or without the spacebar come to that!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

