Important notes on Custom GamePacks for C64.app

Please view the updated post: http://dna.myhostclub.com/wp/?p=421
The content of this posting is outdated and invalid.
Thank you,
– DNA

With the release of version 1.2.xx of the C64.app for the Apple iPhone and iPod Touch in app purchases became a reality, ultimately allowing us to install an unlimited? number of our own custom games.

The Game folders use the same naming scheme as Apps downloaded from the App Store. Although they can be named anything you like, it is very important that you follow this naming scheme.

com.domain.title
com.domain.gameid
Example: com.manomio.C64.paperboy

While you could also use your own domain in this scheme, it is recommended that you use “com.manomio.C64.title” “com.manomio.C64.gameid” and that the title id is the same as the games .t64/d64 image file (lowercase no spaces) to help avoid duplicates when installing multiple gamepacks.

This of course isn’t fool proof and you may occasionally end up with a duplicate or two. If that happens simply remove one of them using Mobile Terminal or via SSH/SFTP.

I will be starting up a cydia repo soon where you can obtain individual games as well as larger gamepacks.

– DNA

10 thoughts on “Important notes on Custom GamePacks for C64.app

  1. DNA Post author

    @Daniel
    Yes it is possible.

    When you’re prompted to swap the disk, just tap the “My Games” icon in the lower left corner of the app and choose the second part of the disk, then tap “Yes” when prompted to resume the game.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply
  2. Daniel

    @DNA
    I tried to do this with Alien Syndrome, but I did not get it working… I use the high-quality re-cracks from Remember (http://www.bitte8bit.de/newremember/htdocs/releases.php). I start side 1 of Alien Syndrome. After the intro was loaded, the games says “turn disk and press space”, but when I change to “My Games” to “insert” the 2. side of the game, the C64 resets and tries to load the first file… Perhaps I did something wrong with where to copy the two disk-sides? Both in one folder, or each in a new folder? (I did the latter method…)

    Like

    Reply
  3. Daniel

    Referring to this forum thread (http://xsellize.com/showthread.php/60900-Commodore-64-for-iphone-(C64)?p=382578) and the request for a master list of converted games, I’d like to post my converted games list here (since I don’t want to sign up in that forum for it… I hope it’s ok):

    1942
    barbarian
    bioniccommando
    bluemax
    bubblebobble
    californiagames
    cauldron
    cauldron2
    cobra
    commando
    cybernoid2
    eaglesnest
    ghostbusters
    ghostngoblins
    gianaSisters
    greenberet
    hero
    iball
    ikariwarriors
    ikplus
    impmission
    intkarate
    microprosesoccer
    missionelevator
    paperboy
    pitstop2
    rtype
    samuraiWarrior
    uridium
    wizardofwar
    wonderboy
    zynaps

    I think they (almost) follow the conventions mentioned in this posting.

    I would like to recommend to use Remember-cracks, if available (http://remember64.de) since they did high-quality-recracks, including bug fixes of games, included highscores in games that didn’t had that feature before etc.

    In case anybody is interested in the converted games (except for Cybernoid II, I only used the Remember-Cracks of the games), just drop me an email and I can send you the package…

    Like

    Reply
  4. DNA Post author

    @Daniel

    Hi Daniel,

    Sorry I have a bad habit of approving comments on my iPhone which stupidly doesn’t allow me to comment, and then I forget to reply.

    I have tested swapping disks with the “Remember” release of Alien Syndrome and it works fine.

    I will create a new posting describing how swapping the disks works in just a few moments.

    – DNA

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

