It’s BACK! C64 Emulator makes its 3rd Appearance in the App Store.

c64_1.1

Third times the charm? Let’s hope so.

Apple has re-approved Manomio’s  C64.app for the iPhone which was previously pulled down twice for violations of the Terms of Service. The update is said to have disabled BASIC which was the part of the app in violation, however I do not believe this to be true, I’ll be buying the app in a few minutes to take a peak at the changes for myself. I’d buy the app before Apple pulls it again if you have any interest in it whatsoever.

Have a look at the changes….”Security Risks” lol

c64changelog

29 thoughts on “It’s BACK! C64 Emulator makes its 3rd Appearance in the App Store.

  1. Mackie

    Finally! I bought and tried to add own games the same way as with v1.0 but I didn’t manage to get it to work. The new version (v1.1) seems to have something called “CodeSignature”. There is a folder called “_CodeSignature” in the C64.app folder with a file called “CodeSignature” that seems to hold a checksum or something for each file.

    It looks like this:

    “files

    1541.ROM

    qxb1aYmyfYm6vl+JxajLPacagvA=

    57x57_gamepack.png

    kZDkttkmWzMC/+rAn6CZXvY2wcI=

    C6457x57.png

    OD12lIleoleRgTXTTRR81KPqv04=” …and so on!

    Maybe this makes it impossible to add/modify files?

    I’m back to v1.0 again. At least now I have paid for the app and support the developer! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Mackie

    I’m sorry, the file I’m talking about is called “CodeResources”. Hmmm… I hope that it is possible to add own games to v1.1 and future version. If not, then we’re stuck with v1.0 but I think that it works quite good.

    Like

    Reply
  3. DNA Post author

    Hi Guys,

    I just got home from work a short while ago, I haven’t eaten all day and its 5:15AM lol

    I will do my best to respond to all your questions, and fear not, more details/guides/releases are on there way 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. DNA Post author

    @DnP
    Looks good.
    I’ll have my new keyboard layout for 1.1.11 up soon as well as basic if all goes as planed.

    I haven’t had anytime these last few days to work on things, so I’ll try to tackle it all tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Darren

    Interesting stuff DnP: the keyboard working ?? guess you can`t really try it until you get to basic and starting typing stuff eh ?
    Are you just transplanting stuff from 1.0 to 1.1 ?

    Like

    Reply
  6. Mackie

    DnP/DNA: I guess that you added the keyboard by adding custom controls to the games gameInfo.plist? What happens if you add a reset button? Will that bring back BASIC to v1.1?

    Any luck replacing/modifying v1.1:s original images (PNGs)?

    Like

    Reply
  7. Mackie

    DnP :
    I’ve added runstop+restore, but i can’t get out of any game…
    The keys are workable, you can press them.

    Try to add reset and see what happens!

    Like

    Reply
  8. DNA Post author

    @Mackie
    I haven’t really tried tackling the reset button issue, but I have been un-successful in my attempts to restore the RESET button to the keyboard.

    The images are present, the functions are present and it’s listed in the commodre-keyboard.plist

    But again, it’s not something I have looked into as I don’t consider it to be too important at this time.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

